God out of the Accident

“If I told her the truth…  if she knew exactly what all this was about…  Well, she would be devastated.  Utterly demoralized, because the truth is so ridiculously underwhelming.

“The truth is, there is no good reason why she is the way she is.  She is not some rare magical race, or descended from a line of sorcerers, and she did not even accidentally touch some cursed object long ago.  The reason why is so very slightly inhuman, but only slightly, is because the side effects of our magic splinter off in completely unexpected ways, to the point where a single young girl, thousands of miles away, has her biology shifted a fraction of a percentage point because of a spell we cast with ten-thousand times the potency.  Her condition is an accident, plain and simple, which is also why, upon purely technical observation, her inhuman qualities are of no great advantage or disadvantage to her.

“I could remedy it, certainly; I could return her biology to 100% human in ten seconds.  But I cannot, for the very same reason.  In my world, in my war, I play God in a controlled environment, with other people who are also playing God, and we play God against only each other, and no one else.  This woman’s town, this woman’s life, is not a controlled environment.  If I fix my accident upon her, why then should I not fix the accident I caused on a thousand other people whom I have never even had the chance to meet?  Why should I not use my power to aid the oppressed and humble the mighty?  The problem with playing God is that even if you so much as heal a child’s skinned knee, you are skill playing God.  The true God may have had a purpose for that skinned knee, or that child born of a rape, or that survivor of a car wreck who discovered he has terminal cancer.  The true God may have a purpose for the accidents I have caused, even if I have been wrong to have caused them.

“Look; look at them.  Because she is different, she asks questions about the world, questions she would never have asked.  Because she is different, she has made a friend.  Because she is different, both of them now have hope.  They do not know the answer, and so they ask such marvelous questions, and in asking them they find such marvelous answers to questions they never thought to ask.  My accident has changed their lives in ways I will never be able to comprehend.  After all, I only play God.”

Leave a Reply

