A Walking Legend

“Your Majesties.

“I know that you bring me before you today to present upon me some great honor or present me with some gift, for saving the land as I did.  I would accept it gladly, had I done any of it.  But my Lord, my Lady…  I did nothing.  I solved none of the riddles, braved none of the dangers, conquered none of the foes.  I bore the load, yes; this much is true.  But I was not the one who placed it onto my back, and I was not the one who removed it from my shoulders.  All I had to do was walk…  It is not hard to walk.  It is not heroic to walk, to run away from danger for the greater good.  My companions…  They are the heroes, your Majesties.  Honor them; honor their memory, not mine.  To let me stand with them would be to mar the image they sought to leave behind.  Please, I beg of you: let the legend be them.  Let the legend be of one who, at the dawn of the future, chose to preserve the past before it was forgotten.  Let the legend be of one who succeeded at a dream they dreamed alone.  Let the legend be of one who would walk into the darkness and relight the torches.

“Do not let the legend be me.”

Leave a Reply

