Rhythmic Translation – Real World by nano.RIPE

{Explanation:  Occasionally there are foreign songs I’ll listen to which I find particularly enjoyable.  I’d like to sing along in my head, but unfortunately the translated lyrics I find don’t rhyme or have the right meter.  Today, I took it upon myself to attempt to do a “rhythmic translation” of one such song, where I altered the lyrics just enough to fit with the original foreign syllables, create some English rhymes, and have the phrases themselves make sense together, while still keeping the content of the song intact.}

{I also really like what I’ve seen of this show, otherwise I wouldn’t have been moved by it enough to do this.}

Click here for the song and directly-translated English lyrics

 

There was once a time that we
laughed and smiled so happily.
And I thought that world would just keep going on forever.
Now it seems so long ago;
there’s so little left to show.
And the things we took for granted then are what keeps us all together.

Every morning when I wake up,
I confess I wonder why I bother.
My heart is sour, my head is racing,
But I’ll still go outside!

Because we’re getting closer and we are almost there,
Even though it’s fragile, laying bare, and
I will show that dream to you:
sometimes good things still happen too!
If you would just wish upon a star
I’d reward you with a chocolate bar.
That’s all there is to it, and we’ll get through it
within this funny world!

Estimates are all I see,
Lost in ambiguity.
As I look up at the sky just waiting for a miracle.
Somewhere in that starry night,
Shone a path into the light.
There’s a new world waiting just beyond; could you please be less cynical?

The earth continues to spin,
but just who exactly does it spin for?
Save those questions until tomorrow
And focus on today.

Because we’re getting closer and we are almost there,
Even though it’s fragile, laying bare, and
I will show that dream to you:
sometimes good things still happen too!
If you would just wish upon a star
I’d reward you with a chocolate bar.
That’s all there is to it, and we’ll get through it
within this funny world!

Go all the way up to the crest of tomorrow’s hill.
Listen to the sweet sounds if you will.
Can you hear their silent cry?
The voice that beckons if you try?
So break the walls of this mystery,
But the more you know the less you’ll see, so
laugh and live, learn to forget and to forgive,
and join this mystic world!

Leave a Reply

