For You

I wish that I knew how to say that I like you.

I wish that I knew if I like you or love you.

I wish that I knew how to know how to love you.

I wish that I knew what to do.

 

I wish I could say things that wouldn’t offend you.

I wish I could say things that’d bring a smile from you.

I wish I could say things that’d show the best in you.

I wish I could say what I knew.

 

I’m glad that it’s been such a long time I’ve known you.

I’m glad that I’ve had this great chance to befriend you.

I hope that you think I’m a friend right back to you,

From all of the things we’ve been through.

 

I wish I could be there to comfort and hold you,

Instead of right now, where I only console you.

I wish that you have a bright future before you,

And that it is easy to view.

 

I’ve found myself anxious when I’m waiting for you.

I’ve found myself happy whenever I see you.

I’ve found my day complete whenever I leave you.

To my life you bring something new.

 

I’m not here to say that I worship or praise you.

I’m not here to say that I can’t live without you.

I’m not here to say my heart’s hole is shaped like you.

I’m not here to say that I’m blue.

 

Instead I will say I enjoy and respect you.

Instead I will say that it’s nice to be near you.

Instead I will say that my heart wants to love you,

If only my head would try too.

 

In some other life I have already wooed you.

In some other life I’ve been rejected by you.

In some other life I have ne’er even met you.

But none of those lives are what’s true.

 

Instead I’m a coward, who’s too shy to court you,

Suspecting that this is the wrong time to ask you,

Or fearful that others have already claimed you,

And I wouldn’t even know who.

 

So that’s why I sit here, and say nothing to you,

While still trying softly to get closer to you.

Hoping that one day I’ll hear something from you:

That you feel the same way I do.

 

{For that special someone…}

Leave a Reply

